Affiliate Programs

There are more businesses on the Web than you can shake an electronic stick at, and the biggest problem they have is how to get people to visit their sites. The solution, for many of them, is to offer affiliate programs (also known as associate, referral, partner or reseller programs). Here is how it works. You (the affiliate) put an ad or a link on your Web site, enticing people to visit a particular business. When someone clicks on the ad or link and ends up buying something from the business, you get a commission (also known as a finder's fee or kickback). Does this sound like a good way to make money for free? Maybe. However, there are a vast number of affiliate programs on the Net, and before you sign up, you should spend some time investigating the business and how it works. Beware of multilevel marketing (MLM or network marketing) plans, and be sure to stay away from pyramid schemes. Hint: Ask yourself the question, where does the money come from?


Web:

http://www.affiliateadvisor.com/
http://www.affiliatematch.com/
http://www.associate-it.com/
http://www.associateprograms.com/
http://www.atlnetwork.com/


Banner Advertising

On the Internet, the lingua franca of commerce is the banner ad: small, rectangular graphics that advertise a product or service. The goal of a banner ad is to get the user to click on the ad (which is a link to another Web site). Ad exposure is measured in impressions. Each time an ad is sent to a user's computer (and presumably viewed by the user), it counts as one impression. When you buy a banner ad, the cost is measured in CPM, or "cost per thousand impressions". For example, if a Web site charges $1,000 for an ad, and guarantees 5,000 impressions, the cost is $20 ($1,000/5) per thousand impressions; that is, CPM of $20. However, when it comes to ads, success is measured in terms of the "click-through" rate, and that depends on how well the ad is designed. So don't waste your money. Use these resources to help you turn impressions into click-throughs (and live happily ever after).


Web:

http://www.adbility.com/
http://www.bannertips.com/


Ecommerce Ezines

Ever enter enhanced enervation? Especially expecting elusive enticing ecommerce effects? Not to worry. These ecommerce ezines will provide you with tips and advice to help you create and market an online business. Start reading, and it won't be long before the extra effort effects economic exhilaration.


Web:

http://www.ecmgt.com/
http://www.ecommerceadvisor.com/
http://www.netb2b.com/
http://www.wilsonweb.com/wmt/


Ecommerce Search Engines

Ecommerce (electronic commerce) has its own demands, so when you demand ecommerce info now, the place to start is an ecommerce search engine. (And on the Net, knowing where to start is even more valuable than knowing someone whose brother's friend knows Bill Gates's email address.)


Web:

http://ecommerce.internet.com/
http://www.clickz.com/


Internet Advertising and Marketing

Advertising and marketing on the Net are not the same as traditional business. Although the basic principles are the same, the details are a lot different and the world moves a lot faster. If you want to be in business on the Net, get off to a good start by learning how it all works.


Web:

http://www.bpubs.com/Internet_and_E-Commerce/Marketing/
http://www.cyberatlas.internet.com/
http://www.cyberspeaker.com/articles.html
http://www.internetnews.com/iar/


Internet Advertising Discussion List

If you're in the Internet advertising game, you don't want to get lost. Try subscribing to this mailing list and participate in a question and answer forum with a lot of serious Internet advertising folks.


Web:

http://www.adbility.com/lists.htm
http://www.i-advertising.com/


Internet Business Resources

Do you want to get into business on the Net? Then let the Net help you. Start here and you'll find just about everything you need to learn about business on the Net and get your own enterprise up and humming. There's always more to learn and the Net changes fast, so check back regularly.


Web:

http://content.techweb.com/netbiz/
http://www.howtoweb.com/corner/webbiz.htm
http://www.ipw.internet.com/
http://www.iw.com/
http://www.webdevelopersjournal.com/hubs/ecommercehub.h...
http://www.zdnet.com/enterprise/e-business/


Internet Economy

Keeping track of the regular economy is hard enough, but trying to keep abreast of what is happening within the Internet economy is next to impossible. The Internet is pure information, and money and ideas move so fast that it seems as if the whole thing is constantly moving at warp speed. Well, don't get discouraged. The Internet economy changes so fast that no one can stay completely current, so you are not alone. However, I do have some resources to help you keep up on what's happening. My advice? Plug in once in awhile and look for long-term trends.


Web:

http://newsroom.cisco.com/dlls/tln/economy.html
http://www.businessweek.com/ebiz/
http://www.caslon.com.au/economyguide.htm
http://www.ecommercetimes.com/
http://www.internetnews.com/ec-news/
http://www.newslinx.com/
http://www.onmagazine.com/on-mag/


Internet Selling Tips

Lots and lots (and lots) of people want to make money running a business to sell stuff on the Net. So what makes you different? As one of my readers, you are intelligent, thoughtful and prudent. You take your time. You investigate. You learn before you leap. Listen: the truth is, there is no easy way to make money on the Net. You have to know what you are doing, work hard, and build your business one step at a time. There are no magic secrets, but there are lots of things you need to know. Start here.


Web:

http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/e-business/tutorial...
http://www.bizmove.com/internet/
http://www.copywriter.com/abbr/10tips.htm
http://www.mailworkz.com/tutorials.htm
http://www.searchengines.com/marketing_marketing_tips.h...


Shopping Carts and Transactions

On the Net, a "shopping cart" system keeps track of the items your customers choose to buy then automates the final processing when they are ready to make their purchase. If you are setting up an online store, you need to learn how to put the Internet shopping cart before the ecommerce horse. Learn how money changes hands on the Net: not only shopping carts, but transaction software, payments, security, credit cards, and more.


Web:

http://www.nightcats.com/sales/free.html
http://www.onlineorders.net/
http://www.poorrichard.com/freeinfo/shop.htm