What should believers know about Astrology and Racism?

Astrology classifies all people as belonging to one of 12 signs. Depending on your date of birth, you are either an Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius or Capricorn. Basic astrology asserts that all the people in a particular group share certain defining characteristics.

In this sense, astrology, although not malevolent, shares an important trait with racism. Here is why.

The fundamental defect in racist thinking is that it ascribes specific characteristics to all members of a group, based on their race. For example, a white person who does not like blacks, might claim (falsely) that all blacks are dishonest. This, of course, is racist. However, it is just as racist to claim that all blacks are honest. Honesty has nothing to do with race.

Although astrology has little else in common with racism, they both support unfounded generalizations. Moreover, they both make assumptions about a person, based on the group into which the person happened to be born.

[ Jump to the Harley Hahn Quick Index Harley Hahn Unisphere logo ]
[ Home ] – [ FAQ ] – [ Send a Message to Harley ]
[ Books ] – [ Usenet ] – [ Internet Exploration Station ]

© All contents Copyright 2023, Harley Hahn
Full trademark and copyright information